ASO Presents: New World Symphony – Going Home

01 | 02

Dawn Avery: Tsenacomoco (ASO at 80 commission – sponsored by Classical Movements)
Margaret Bonds: Montgomery Variations
Conni Ellisor: Blackberry Winter
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9

Under the direction of Music Director James Ross, Alexandria Symphony Orchestra conveys the sounds of Appalachia and Americana with the program “Going Home,” anchored by Antonín Dvořák’s beloved New World Symphony. Tsenacomoco, a commission by Native American composer Dawn Avery, connects to Alexandria’s Native history and Dvořák’s exploration of Native American and African American music. Also featured are excerpts from Margaret Bonds’ Montgomery Variations (a tribute to Martin Luther King, Jr.) followed by Conni Ellisor’s Blackberry Winter with Stephen Seifert on mountain dulcimer. Seifert has performed with numerous orchestras and at hundreds of festivals and events in the U.S., England, and Japan. The concert opens with a surprise guest artist.  

The venue provides free parking.